The general purpose of the IAHSSF annual recognition program is to recognize and promote overall excellence and outstanding contributions to the IAHSSF, IAHSS and/or to the field of healthcare security, safety or risk management. Unless otherwise indicated, awards will be presented at the IAHSS Annual General Meeting.

Recognition Overview

Awards Photos

  • Foundation award
  • Foundation award 3
  • Russ invocation 2
  • Woman in security

Awards Committee

The Foundation President shall appoint an Awards Committee annually. The Committee shall consist of no less than a Chairperson and two members. All committee members must be current IAHSSF Board members, IAHSS members in good standing or Life Members.

Selection of Award Recipients

The Awards Committee shall, with the exception of the Elwood (Woody) G. Near Presidential Award select qualified recipients for each award according to the following criteria established by the Board of Directors. The Chairperson of the Awards Committee will notify all nominees of the committee’s decision by the first of April of each year. All decisions and determinations of the Awards Committee are final. Decisions will be based solely upon the material submitted as part of the nomination. All award applications and supporting documentation become the property of the IAHSSF and will not be returned. The Awards Committee will not divulge or discuss with nominees or nominators any information regarding the selection of award recipients. If, after reviewing all award submissions for a specific category, the Awards Committee or Board of Directors feels that if no nominee is deserving of the award, the award will not be presented for that year.

Award Nominations

Nominations may be submitted by any IAHSS member in good standing, administrator of a healthcare facility or manager of a contract security provider employing an IAHSS member in good standing, Chapter, or Region. Nominations and supporting materials must be received by the IAHSSF Awards Committee by January 15th of each calendar year. Nominees and submittals for IAHSSF awards should be either individual or a compilation of acts, services or contributions undertaken by an individual or group within the year immediately preceding the nomination. All submitted nominations and supporting materials become the property of the IAHSSF, and will not be returned.

All award inquiries, nominations and supporting documentation should be forwarded to:

IAHSSF Awards Committee
8420 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue
Suite 1020
Chicago, ILL 60631 USA
Phone: 1-888-353-0990 Fax: 630-529-4139

Nomination forms – please click on the individual award nomination under the specific awards.


Chapter Award
Russell L. Colling Literary Award
Lindberg Bell Award
Medal of Valor Award
Medal of Distinction Award
Distinguished Lifeworks Award
Award of Merit
Philip A. Gaffney Faculty Chair Award

Notification of Recipients’ Facility

When the Chairperson of the Awards Committee notifies each recipient that he or she will receive an award, the Chairperson will obtain the name and address of each recipient’s chief executive officer and public relations director, as well as any local news media that should be notified. The Association President will send a letter to the chief executive officer of each healthcare facility and/or contract security provider whose employee or department will receive an award, notifying them of the nature of the award and inviting them to attend the Awards Banquet at the Annual General Meeting. The Chairperson of the Awards Committee will send a press release to each facility’s public relations department and/or any local news media as identified by each recipient.

Presentation of Awards

All awards will be presented at the Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the IAHSS Annual General Meeting. If a recipient cannot attend, the President will make arrangements for a suitable presentation by a member of the Board of Directors or Regional Chairperson at an IAHSS seminar, chapter meeting or other suitable occasion.

Publication of Award Recipients on IAHSSF website

A cumulative list of the recipients of all IAHSSF awards will be published on the IAHSSF website under the specific awards.