Award of Merit

The Medal of Merit is presented to an individual who distinguishes himself/herself in the performance of duty by an act of personal fortitude above and beyond the call of duty not taken at the risk of his/her own life.

Medal of Merit Nomination Application

An individual must be nominated in writing by a Board Member, Past President, Regional Chairperson, or local Chapter Chairperson. Any and all supporting documentation must be included with the recommendation letter.

The award consists of a medal bearing the IAHSSF seal and suitably engraved. The award may be presented at the Awards Banquet in conjunction with the Annual General Meeting or any official IAHSS function.

Awards of Merit
Year Recipient’s Name Facility
2018 Lena Allen St Joseph Hospital
2017 Paul Berube Central Maine Medical Center
2017 Derrick Dix,
Odetta Mauny,
Nicholas Williams
Carolina Healthcare Systems
2017 Michael Morris Virginia Healthcare Facility
2017 Joshua Parks and Troy Burrows
2017 Brodie Riner University of Texas, Houston
2017 Patrick Spencer Nationwide Children’s Hospital Columbus, Ohio
2016 Pamela Shauf Lions Gate Hospital in N. Vancouver, BC
2016 Alex French,
Dharmendra Singh,
Brandon Anderson,
Gaurav Gill,
Maurico Godoy
Surrey Memorial Hospital, BC
2016 Allen Young Memorial Herman Health Care
2014 Venus Powell-Uzzell Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia
2013 Hector Collazo
Glenton Smith
Alyssa Roderick
Cambridge Health Alliance
2013 Kristopher Stevenson
Brandon Skaiak
Omar Saigado
Denver Health
2012 Frank Gibson Rideout Memorial Hospital
2011 Baron P. Alfred, Jimmy Montojo and
Jeffrey A. Helgeson
Memorial Hermann Health System, Houston, TX
2010 John Kornock Parker Adventist Hospital, Parker, CO
2007 Anthony Potter, CHPA-CPP Forsyth Medical Center, Winston-Salem, NC
2007 Michael Cummings Aurora Healthcare, Milwaukee, WI
2007 Joseph Gullinello Staten Island, NY
2007 Evelyn Meserve, CHPA Gaston Memorial Hospital, Gastonia, NC